30 by 30

I have been trying this year to live my life more fully. Seize the day, and all that, you know. I tend to recall Thoreau ~ that whole bit about not wanting to arrive at death only to find out that I never truly lived. So! I am determined to have a really exciting year!

I was inspired by my sister who did this same sort of thing a couple of years ago.

Here are 30 things I intend to do before my 30th birthday next year. Bold means they have been accomplished.

30 by 30

1. Fly in a hot air balloon – I am making this a goal for my 30s.
2. Learn to knitFlying Kick-A-Pow!
3. Buy myself some flowers from the farmers’ marketRununculus and Lilacs!
4. Eat Ethiopian FoodMmmmmyummy.
5. Cause Natural Disaster through Immodest DressingBoobquake!
6. Go to the Griffith Observatory and PlanetariumCould only have been better if it had been narrated by Carl Sagan
7. Become a California certified massage therapist 2 months 6 days from mailing the full application to notification of certification, which is really annoying, but Now I’m Certified!
8. Renew my passport
9. Ride a bus in L.A.
10. See the Grand Canyon, from the ground, in person – I intended to see the GC on my drive across the country, but instead I went to the Petrified Forest National Park which was overwhelming enough for me to postpone my GC trip until the summer.
11. Get over my fear of heightsNearly there Piece o Cake! Now, to get over the overwhelming enormity of nature’s wide open spaces!
12. Learn to drive a stick shift automobile
13. Ride on a Vespa
14. Drive cross-country
15. Learn to Tango
16. Go horseback riding out here, Western style! (which I have done, but not out west.)
17. Cuddle with the Daisy Dog
18. Learn to say more than just ‘beer’ in Spanish
19. Learn to say more than just ‘thank you’ in Italian
20. Move to L.A.uh, Check!
21. Go to a Library in L.A.When in doubt, go to the library.
22. Blow bubbles from the roof in the dark
23. Learn to make/bake bread
24. Go to the Getty ~ The gardens are particularly interesting to me
25. Go to San Francisco
28. Visit Gold Rush Country
26. Visit Pioneertown – postponed
27. Go to Oregon – postponed – Replaced with Unexpected detour through Arkansas. Route 65 is gorgeous!
29. Take the Coastal Starlight – postponed
30. Swim in a Salt Water PoolAnd Hot Tub

Obviously, my list needs a little filling in. Any suggestions of awesome and amazing experiences I ought to have during my 30th Year?

UPDATE 5-8-10:
I need only three more items to complete my list of 30 things to accomplish by the time I turn 30. I have already crossed off several of my entries! Yay! Thanks for the suggestions and if you have any more, please comment. I am always looking for new adventures. And when I turn 30, I’ll likely start a 31 by 31 list, or at least a 35 by 35, so the more the better.

UPDATE 5-11-10:
New additions and alterations made

UPDATE 6-26-10
My aspirations for this year have grown and altered since I first wrote this list. I have edited it to show this. This year keeps getting more and more exhilarating! Now that I have made some changes, I’ll need to fill in the missing items.

UPDATE 2-17-11
Lots of stuff accomplished this year! Less than three weeks until my thirtieth birthday. A few changes to be made! I’ll update again soon!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Autumn
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 16:38:44

    Jason can help you with #10: tattoo, if you come back to SC. Or perhaps if we came that way before your b-day with a proper set up.

    Also, you can go horseback riding Western style in the Grand Canyon. 2 for 1!

    Like

    Reply

    • Crime of Poisson
      May 03, 2010 @ 17:43:09

      Autumn,
      Awesome πŸ™‚

      I love the idea of horseback riding at the Grand Canyon! What an excellent experience that would be – well, set of experiences!

      Like

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Through The Looking Glass » Blog Archive » Mish-Mash
  3. Nina the slackmistress
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 20:12:08

    If “have a pit bull pass out on my lap” is on that list, I will definitely be able to make that happen this weekend!

    Like

    Reply

    • Crime of Poisson
      May 03, 2010 @ 17:42:05

      ❀ to Daisy Dog πŸ™‚

      I'll modify this to have one sit in my lap and check it off. Then I'll have to spend more time with her next time we are over!

      Like

      Reply

  4. Amara
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 23:09:55

    El diablo est en el banio (or el gatto).
    The devil is in the bathroom (or the cat)

    Beautiful thoughts and ideas and ideals.

    Write a letter to the editor about something that your really care about without worrying about what anyone will think.

    Write a poem for someone you care about.

    Spend a whole day wandering around without a plan or a need for a plan and let Fate take you where it will.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Nan
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 22:12:14

    didn’t you sleep with pit bulls at Jenny’s years ago?

    Like

    Reply

  6. Jasmine
    Apr 25, 2010 @ 21:06:22

    Reply

  7. Helen
    May 02, 2010 @ 14:53:25

    I saw your list through Annika’s Blog… how about:

    * volunteer for a day at an animal rescue/zoo
    * attend a “night at the museum” (if available – I’ve seen some museums in London and Berlin stay open all night on rare occasions)
    * make a photo collage of your 30 years (personally I’d be photocopying or scanning/printing old photos and not cut them up, but entirely up to you!)
    * create a brand new-to-you meal with no recipe book
    * lie on the grass on a sunny day and watch the clouds go by – as long as you need to feel completely calm and happy
    * donate blood
    * if already donated blood, donate bone marrow or plasma
    * read a Shakespeare play (I’d recommend “The Merchant of Venice”)

    I have about 18 months to my 30th, maybe I should make my own list… πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply

    • Crime of Poisson
      May 03, 2010 @ 17:37:33

      O, excellent list of ideas. I love Shakespeare, so that is a great recommendation! I actually attended a reading of Hamlet a few weeks ago, and got to participate. I’ll pick out one I haven’t read before, I think.

      Like

      Reply

  8. theletterkae
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 22:13:20

    For #6 and #24, let me know when you’ve got a free weekend. I haven’t been to the Observatory since elementary school and I haven’t spent a full day at the Getty yet this year. πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

