Between Your God and Your Own Broken Way

I have been shocked at the conservative nature of much of the northeast since moving back. I don’t remember the exact conversation or argument that I overheard or may have participated in that stoked the fire under the following words to make me write them, but here it is. Perhaps not complete, but from my soul. August 7th, 2012:

I don’t want to get into a big argument, but certain among you seem very determined to present your contrary and often depressing view of the world. I pity your small view of what love, marriage, and life can be. I want you, as my friends, to find the joy in life that I have. I know it may not be ‘allowed’ for you to consider these things, based on your personal view of what your religion or political standing means, but I believe you would do very well from reading some of the teachings of Buddha, the Dalai Lama, Rumi (who often spoke from a Christian point of view, by the way), and other spiritual leaders and philosophers who all taught that there is no greater strength in life than Love. Don’t want a spiritual leader? Go read some Garcilaso de la Vega or Pablo Neruda.

I don’t really care whose teachings you follow as long as you accept a little more, well, Acceptance, into your life.

Not only is there a saying that All Men Are Created Equal, but there is also something called Freedom of Religion (That means ALL religions, not just yours), and something equally important called Separation of Church and State. It is Against the Law to deny someone equal rights to your own because their lifestyle doesn’t fit the purported laws of your religious. 

How many of you who are so very against things like Marriage Equality have lived a perfect saintly life, anyway? 

I’d wager very few, if any at all.

And who are you to judge?

Look inside the history of your own life and tell me you have never “Sinned.” (I don’t believe in Sin, by the way, but this is for the purpose of your argument.)

Leave a Reply

