A Curious Queary, or The Bloody Truth

I had a horrible headache today. So, like, a light migraine. Which sounds so tame compared to how it actually feels.

When asked about it by a male client, I informed him it was likely hormone related.

He asked if that meant good news….I asked for clarification, but of course he meant, “are you pregnant?”

I said, no, I have my period. To which he replied, “I didn’t need to know that.”

 

This makes my brain hurt, which isn’t helpful on top of the finally waning migraine. As my thoughts sort themselves out, this one comes to the forefront:

 

How is it your business if I’m making a human inside my womb, but too much information if I am not?

 

Get your priorities straight. You should not pry into my personal life and then get offended when I offer the truth freely. We have, in this culture, a messed up sense of ownership of personal information that relates to a much bigger issue of women’s health and the ownership our society feels in discussing, controlling, and silencing it.

Just as we need to open up the discussion on miscarriage and pregnancy and child loss, we need to find a better way to speak openly about all women’s health issues that face us on a daily basis, until we are at a place culturally where we as a people can take complete ownership of our own bodies without fear and without shame.

 

Leave a Reply

