Forget to Unplug

When we were planning the wedding, I read a lot of articles about alternative options for weddings, on sites such as Offbeat Bride.

 

One that I kept coming back to was the idea of The Unplugged Wedding. This means, you tell your guests to turn off their cellphones, leave their cameras at home, and let everyone enjoy the ceremony (and reception) through their own eyes, letting the professional photographer take all the shots – leaving the images clear of distracting black boxes in front of people’s beautiful faces.

 

I thought and thought about this idea and was quite taken with it. In the end, however, I decided not to worry, and never made mention of a restriction to the guests or wedding party members. And I am so glad I did not.

 

Despite the fact that many of our guests’ shots turned out blurry, as they are wont to do, what came back were an array of wonderful moments that I wouldn’t have otherwise been able to see. While our professional photographs are some of the best I have ever seen, if I had restricted the guests from taking pictures of their own, I would have missed out on gorgeous images such as these:

The two of us exchanging rings, taken by a friend of our maid of honor:

ImageImage

And this one of me walking down the aisle towards my dearest love, taken by our best man’s wife. I mean, seriously, Look at that smile! Such good framing:

Image

 

So, I still definitely understand the allure of an unplugged wedding, but I think the payoff of allowing guests to hide behind a lens can be perdy dern great!

Kept On Top

As we prepare for our move, there are a few things that need to be kept on top. I’m speaking, of course, about certain books.

This pile, set aside while other shelves’ contents become cardboard mountains, is comprised of favourites: one that I’m rereading, its sequel that I’m preparing myself for, a book I’ve read a few pages of that really captured me and is ready to be fully devoured, another highly recommended book I’m looking forward to digging into, and at the very base of this beautiful stack, my favourite book in the world – I might not reread it in the next month before we get our keys, but it stays with me, pretty much wherever I go.

Books

Books Kept on Top