An Average House Cat

I was thrilled the other day to discover that I have managed to drop eleven pounds. I’m even maintaining that loss. Which is, of course, the important part. So I was looking on Pinterest, as I am wont to do, and found this chart I’d pinned a while ago, which gives a realistic idea of what we have actually managed to lose, which is often hard to envision, by comparing it to other objects.

Image

(I cannot find the source for this pin, as it links to a spam health site, and src-img is not bringing anything up, so right now this image just links back to Pinterest)

 

I laughed so hard when I discovered the size equivalent of my weight-loss to be . . .

an average house cat.

 

I laughed because I’m sure they mean an average house cat who does not live with any of my relatives. I’m still excited about a loss of that magnitude, but, seriously, it is nothing compared to an actual Barronklin house cat’s true size. Because our house cats tend to look more like this:

Image
Ziggy, my sister-in-law’s not-so-average house cat.

 

Or even this:

Image

Sasquatch and Yeti

 

It’s hard to tell from this photo, but this cat, whose real name was Midnight, earned her moniker of Behemoth:

Image

Hemoth lived with my dad and step mom.

 

There is an exception of course, but it doesn’t last very long, and that exception is when they look like this:
Image

Tadorable litter from a couple years ago. But they are barn cats, anyway, so I’m not sure they really count. Even with all those extra toes!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jennieinthearchives
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 14:12:03

    It’s disturbing that the average American consumes more refined sugar by weight than potatoes…

    My house cat, Arthur, actually does weigh 11 pounds, but he’s not done growing yet.

    Also, congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Crime of Poisson
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 14:17:35

    Thanks, Gred! 🙂

    I don’t have accurate measurements for all the cats, but I’d guess Ziggy has surpassed 20 lbs.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

