Five

In 1999, I graduated high school.

 

Ten years later, having moved out of state, I had to choose carefully if I was going to attend my Central New York college reunion or my Western New York high school reunion.

 

Well, I chose high school.

 

And somehow that has made all the difference.

 

My friend Anastasia held a bonfire for our 10th year reunion after our lazy-ass classmates didn’t bother signing up for any of the other activities and they all got cancelled.

 

So, a weird thing happened that night.

 

I met her brother.

 

reunion

Me & Annie, the night I met her brother

 

OK that’s not really weird. The bonfire was At Their House.

 

But, the weird thing is how much of an impact that meeting had on the rest of my life, even though I didn’t realize it at the time.

 

Tonight is our 15th year reunion, and once again, having been the only person to plan something, Anastasia is hosting the reunion with a bonfire at the family farm.

 

Only this time, I live just across town, not 700 miles away, and this time, I’ll be the one bringing her brother to the party.

 

Funny how little things work out sometimes.

 

Getting Dressed for the Big Day

Me & Annie the day she was my maid of honor when I got married to her brother

 

So, no matter what you think you can expect, I say, Yes, Yes you should go to that reunion you’ve been invited to. Go. You never know what you might get out of the deal.

 

Leave a Reply

